Deary named Leadership Cumberland executive director

Nicole Deary - (Photo / Submitted)

Leadership Cumberland will soon have a new leader of its own.

The group’s board of directors has named Nicole Deary its executive director, replacing the retiring Bets McManus.

Deary, who will begin on Feb. 22, also was a participant in the program, which is designed to help emerging leaders in diverse fields “to become effective leaders in the workplace and community.”

Founded in 1989 as Leadership Carlisle, the organization has more than 500 graduates. Its 10-month curriculum focuses on five outcomes: leadership, community service, personal skills, networking and knowledge of the county.

“Having participated in Leadership Cumberland, I know how rewarding and influential this program can be,” Deary said. “I’m honored to have been selected and excited to be part of a program that helps shape and mold our future leaders.”

Deary currently is marketing director for the Carlisle Chamber of Commerce, and formerly served as its events coordinator.

She brings prior marketing and development experience from Project SHARE and The Shippensburg University Foundation, and also is a Shippensburg graduate.

“We are absolutely delighted to have Mrs. Nicole Deary join our organization as our new executive director,” said Leadership Cumberland Board Chairman Joseph Vancosky.

“The experience, skills and reputation Nicole has established in the community will have an immediate impact on our program,” Vancosky added. “As a board, we look forward to working with Nicole in shaping Leadership Cumberland for the future.”

Roger DuPuis
Roger DuPuis covers Cumberland County, health care, transportation, distribution, energy and environment. Have a tip or question for him? Email him at rdupuis@cpbj.com.

Business Events

2019 Icon Honors

Tuesday, December 17, 2019
2019 Icon Honors

Cyber Security Symposium

Thursday, February 27, 2020
Cyber Security Symposium

2020 Healthcare Heroes

Friday, March 13, 2020
2020 Healthcare Heroes

2020 Nonprofit Innovation Awards

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
2020 Nonprofit Innovation Awards