Awards: Hershey Harrisburg Regional Visitors Bureau announces tourism awards winners

Honors, designations and recognitions.


Hampden Township-based Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors gave its Chairman’s Distinguished Service Award to George Wolfe, long-time manager of Lower Paxton Township, Dauphin County. Additional award recipients included: Daniel Kerr, manager of Limerick Township, Montgomery County, and Gary Elston, a supervisor for West Nantmeal Township, Chester County, the 29th Annual President’s Leadership Awards; Upper Merion Township, Montgomery County, the 27th Annual Outstanding Citizen Communication Award; Polk Township, Monroe County, bridge winner in the 36th Annual Road and Bridge Safety Improvement Awards; College Township, Centre County, roadway winner in the 36th Annual Road and Bridge Safety Improvement Awards; Tredyffrin Township, Chester County, honorable mention in the 36th Annual Road and Bridge Safety Improvement Awards; and Pine and Marshall townships and Bradford Woods borough in Allegheny County, and Adams, Cranberry and Jackson townships in Butler County received the Excellence in Intergovernmental Cooperation Award for their regional trail plan.


State College-based Penn State University Department of Sociology and Criminology gave Robert P. Caruso its 2018 Outstanding Alumni Award for his influence as a leader, significant career achievements, and for being an outstanding role model for current students. Caruso is executive director of the State Ethics Commission. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Law Enforcement and Corrections from Penn State in 1974.


The California Commercial Wine Competition gave double Gold awards along with Best of California, Best of Class, Best of Varietal and Best of Region, to two wines from Thorn Hill Vineyards of Lower Lake, Calif., owned by Amy and Jack Thorn of Lancaster. Winemaker Amy Thorn’s winning products were the 2016 Napa Valley Chardonnay and the 2104 Napa Valley Merlot.


Capital Area Chapter Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame named its Class of 2018 inductees: Jim Anderson, football; Dave Bitting, coaching; Earl Bright III, meritorious, wrestling; Debbie Eckroth, golf; Rod Frisco, sports writer; Dennis Green (deceased), football; Michael Horrocks (deceased), football; Laurel Hershey Martin, field hockey; and Randy Umberger, coaching.

Montgomery County-based addiction treatment nonprofit Gaudenzia, with a center in Paxtang, awarded its Community Champion award to the PA Media Group of Hampden Township for its coverage of all aspects of the heroin and opioid epidemic.


Hershey Harrisburg Regional Visitors Bureau gave Partner in Tourism Awards to the following individuals and organizations for their achievements in tourism during the past year.

  • Above & Beyond Award: John Bailey & Bailey Coach.
  • VIP – Very Involved Partner Award: Michelle Hornberger, Dauphin County Parks & Recreation.
  • Excellence In Programming Award: Hershey Harrisburg Wine Country, Signature Events Series.
  • Best New Event Award: Harrisburg Mural Festival, produced by Mural Sprocket Works.
  • Business of the Year Award: Harristown Development Corp.
  • New Attraction of the Year Award: J.R. Tobias Museum & Education Center at Lake Tobias Wildlife Park.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Frank Gilbert, general manager at Hershey Lodge.
  • Keepin’ It Fresh Certificates for renovations, expansions and improvements were awarded to: Hersheypark; Hershey Lodge; The Hotel Hershey; Penn FC; Crowne Plaza Harrisburg Hershey; Econo Lodge Hershey; Days Inn Harrisburg North; The Vegetable Hunter; Zeroday Brewing Co.; Fulling Mill Inn; Allenberry Resort; Lowee’s Group Tours; and Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East.
  • New Biz On the Block Certificates went to: Grill 22; Mount Gretna Brewery & Red Canoe General Store; Courtyard by Marriott Hershey Chocolate Avenue; Do You Even Escape?; Cafe Huey on City Island; Harrisburg Bike Share; Duck Donuts Hershey; Yogiventure; The Pantry Cafe; and MeltSPA by Hershey.
  • Milestone Recognition: Millersburg Ferry, 200 years in service; Koziar’s Christmas Village, 70 years in business; Todd Kohr, departing board member for Visit Hershey & Harrisburg, for service to tourism; and Kim McKelvy and Justin Martsolf, both for 10 years of service, and Gregg Cook for 15 years of service to Visit Hershey & Harrisburg.

Sending awards

Please send announcements concerning awards received to We do not publish photos for award recipients. Please do not send duplicates of your release. Releases should include the municipality in which the company is located.

CPBJ Business Events

2019 Reader Rankings Awards

Wednesday, June 19, 2019
2019 Reader Rankings Awards

2019 Women of Influence

Monday, June 24, 2019
2019 Women of Influence

2019 Real Estate & Development Symposium

Wednesday, August 07, 2019
2019 Real Estate & Development Symposium

2019 Top 50 Fastest Growing Companies

Monday, September 09, 2019
2019 Top 50 Fastest Growing Companies