follow us:Google+FacebookLinkedInTwitterVimeoRSS Feeds


Business of the Year Awards

Business of the Year


Monday, Nov. 10, 2014
5:45 PM - 9:30 PM


Hilton Harrisburg
1 N. Second St.
HarrisburgPA 17101

Register Now

The 11th annual Central Penn Business Journal Business of the Year Awards will be presented on November 10, 2014, at the Hilton Harrisburg.

These top companies and individual leaders will be recognized during this prestigious event for their outstanding contributions to Central Pennsylvania’s business community. The winners in each category will be announced at the event.

The 2014 Business of the Year Awards finalists have been announced and tickets are on sale now!

Click here for a printable version of the registration form.

2014 Business of the Year Finalists (1-50 employees)

APM Building Materials
Curt Grim, President

Carma Industrial Coatings
Ron Howe, President/Owner

Conte Wealth Advisors, LLC
Frank Conte, Founding Partner

Good Hope Animal Hospital
Robert Heidecker, DVM, Owner

Murray Associates Architects, P.C.
D. Michael Frye, President

Robin R. Zellers, President

One2One Inc.
Nicholas Paulukow,CEO

WCI Partners, LP
Alex Hartzler, Executive Chairman

2014 Business of the Year Finalists (51-100 employees)

ARRO Consulting, Inc.
Matthew Brown, President & CEO

Conrad Siegel Actuaries
Mark Bonsall, President

Landmark Homes
Cliff Weaver, President

Primitives by Kathy, Inc.
Kathy Phillips, CEO/Owner

Tender Years, Inc.
Betty L. Krebs, Founder, Owner & President

2014 Business of the Year Finalists (101+ employees)

Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar
Gary Huether, Jr., Co-Owner

D.F. Stauffer Biscuit Co. Inc.
Shun Yoshioka, CEO & James L. Wilson Jr., COO

Four Seasons Family of Companies
Ronald R. Carkoski, President & CEO

Warfel Construction Company
Ralph E. Simpson, Jr., PE, CEO

2014 Emerging Business of the Year Finalists

Arctic Blu LLC
Brad Bixler, Co-Owner, CEO

International Water Company LLC
Stephen M. Strachan, Managing Partner/CEO

Matt Stambaugh Media
Matt Stambaugh, Owner and Cinematographer

RLS Construction Group, LLC
Robert L. Schopfer, President & CEO

The Vineyard & Brewery at Hershey
Jason Reimer, President

2014 Entrepreneur of the Year Finalists

abSketches, LLC
Anthony Billet, President & Founder

First Capital Engineering
Ann K. Luciani, CEO

Mid Atlantic Machinery, Inc.
Kevin Kilgallen, President

Travel Time Travel Agency, Inc.
Shaun Balani, CEO

WebpageFX, Inc.
William Craig, President

2014 Hall of Fame Inductees

William M. Miller, Jr. & Elliott "Chip" Miller, Carlisle Events

Richard C. (Dick) Waybright, Mason Dixon Farms

Richard Witwer, Direct Wire & Cable, Inc.

2014 Spirit of Philanthropy Honoree

Donald C. Graham, The Graham Group

2014 Building the Community Honoree

Ware Center, Millersville University

2014 Cliff Jones Award Honoree

Russell C. Ford, Harristown Development Corporation

Contact Information

Beth Feltenberger, Director of Events & Marketing 1500 Paxton St., 3rd Floor Harrisburg, PA 17104 Phone: 717-236-4300 Fax: 717-236-6803

Past Program Highlights

Business of the Year Event Photos

Business of the Year Event Photos

Hall of Fame 10th Anniversary

Hall of Fame 10th Anniversary
This video recaps the past 10 years of Hall of Fame inductees.

2013 Hall of Fame Videos

2013 Hall of Fame Videos
The Hall of Fame was established as a lifetime achievement award to honor and celebrate the successes of individuals dedicated to their profession and Central Pennsylvania. To introduce each of this year's Hall of Fame honorees, FGV Media created a brief tribute video about each honoree as a successul business leader.

Event Highlights: 2013 Business of the Year Awards

Event Highlights: 2013 Business of the Year Awards
On Monday, November 4, the Central Penn Business Journal and event sponsors celebrated the achievements of 34 companies and business leaders whose dedication to employees, community and business success has made the region a better place to live and work. CLICK ON THE IMAGE to see event highlights and photos.

2013 Business of the Year Awards Publication

2013 Business of the Year Awards Publication
Have you ever watched a crew team in action? Perched on the stern of the boat, the coxswain is responsible for race strategy and navigation, as well as ensuring that the team works in unison. This is much like the relationship between CEO and staff. He or she communicates the company's business strategy in order to reach corporate goals. This is the level of teamwork demonstrated by our Business of the Year award winners and finalists. CLICK ON THE IMAGE to read about these special honorees.


Poll Question of the Week:

What is your company doing to keep next year’s employee health insurance costs down?

CPBJ Extra Blog

Symposium highlights

Business Journal reporter Jason Scott captured highlights from last week's Real...

Fast Forward with Hope

Prepare yourself and your business for Ebola -- but don't panic

A healthy able-bodied man could be fine at lunch and dead by dinner. An...

Main Dish with Erica

The Jackson House: The best little burger joint on this side of the Susquehanna

For years, my underground foodie sources have been talking up the burgers at...

Real estate with Jeff

The new urbanism in Central PA?

I wrote about urbanism as a concept waaay back in 2007, and looking forward to...

Business Events

Forty Under 40 Awards 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Business of the Year Awards 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
CPBJ Business Event
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Best Places to Work in PA 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Seminar: Being a Best Place to Work in PA 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
CPBJ Business Event
Monday, March 9, 2015

Special Editions

Top 50 Fastest Growing Companies 2014

Top 50 Fastest Growing Companies 2014
You’ve heard of hot rods, hotshots, hot commodities, hot spots, hot trends, hot gossip and even hot wings. But have you seen our hot list? And by hot list, we mean our 2014 Top 50 Fastest Growing Companies. Simply put, these businesses are smart, quick and focused, and they’re blazing their way through Central Pennsylvania, growing faster and stronger than the competition.

Construction & Real Estate Report - Fall 2014

Construction & Real Estate Report - Fall 2014

Lancaster County Business Report 2014

Lancaster County Business Report 2014
From the addition of an archery academy, a new laser tag facility and the expansions of Trop Gun Shop and The Volleyball Corner to the recent announcement that next year’s U.S. Women’s Open golf championship will be held in the area, Lancaster County’s business community has been experiencing many victories. Find out how these sports and leisure activities are playing out for the local economy.

Business Profiles 2014

Business Profiles 2014
As Babe Ruth once said, “Never let the fear of striking out get in your way.” That’s true for baseball, and it’s true for business, especially for the 44 companies featured in this publication. Whether they have more than a century of business under their belts or just a few years, these companies are all stars. Armed with winning business plans, dedicated teammates and a love for the game, they are simply worth watching (and reading about).

Back to Top