Google Plus Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Vimeo RSS


Businesses featured this week: Benchmark Construction Co. Inc., Cumberland-Perry Area Vocational Technical School, Dauphin County Technical School , Edwin L. Heim Co. , Enginuity LLC , Harley-Davidson Motor Co. Inc. , Houck Group Inc., Keener Inc., Kline's Services, Lancaster County Career & Technology Center, Lebanon County Career and Technology Center, Lobar Associates Inc., Lobar Site Development Corp. , McClure Co., R.S. Mowery & Sons Inc., Ralph E. Jones Inc. , Rettew Associates Inc., Ritner Steel Inc., Secco Inc., SparkleWash, SPX Cooling Technologies, York County School of Technology


Harrisburg-based Mid Atlantic BX gave Craftsmanship Awards in eight categories to numerous area contracting and construction professionals. Commercial project winners were Bill McSherry of Lower Allen Township-based Secco Inc. for his work on Char's at Tracy Mansion in Dauphin County; John Wadlinger of Harrisburg-based Edwin L. Heim Co. for his work on Skyrush Primary Power in Dauphin County; and Frank Spahr, Brian Yohe, Dave Herb and Dane Eichelberger of Carroll Township-based Lobar Associates Inc. for their work on the Cigars International retail store interior facade in Berks County. Educational project winners were Jason Beward of Silver Spring Township-based Keener Inc. for his work on the additions and renovations to Mechanicsburg Middle School in Cumberland County; Curt Negley, Terry Smetzer, Andrew Orndorff and Eugene Young of Silver Spring Township-based R.S. Mowery & Sons Inc. for their work on Mount St. Mary's University chapel renovations near Emmitsburg, Md.; and Mike Horak of Keener for his work on the Landis Run Intermediate School in Lancaster County. Beward also won a community and park service project award for his work on the additions and alterations to the Selinsgrove Municipal Building and Community Center in Snyder County. Health care project winners were Mark Lindquist and Gary Wetzel of Susquehanna Township-based McClure Co. for their work on the Selinsgrove Center HVAC upgrades in Snyder County, and William J. Hall, David Paul, Matt Whitehill and Todd Shirk of McClure for their work on the Mount Nittany Medical Center emergency department expansion and renovations in Centre County. Industrial project winners were Dana Kimball of Edwin L. Heim for work on the Volvo EDS upgrade in Cumberland County; Matt Wilson and John Banaszek of Secco for their work after the R.H. Sheppard foundry fire in York County; and Dan Ney of Hampden Township-based Enginuity LLC for his work on the Mittal Steel filter replacement in Dauphin County. Miscellaneous and special project winners were Matt Kretzing and Mike Kistler of Lobar Associates for their work on terrace seating at Cigars International in Berks County; and Matt Myers of Lobar Associates for his work at Beech Creek Wesleyan Church in Clinton County. Residential project winners were Harry Kinser, Bob Brown and Steve Zellers of West Earl Township-based Benchmark Construction Co. Inc. for their woodworking in Luther Acres New Towne Center's pub in Lancaster County; Rick Risser, Kinser and Dan Urban of Benchmark for the Main Street trim installation at the Luther Acres project, and Mike Murphy and Troy Boyer of Benchmark for their work on the concrete foundation of Kirkwood Place in Lancaster County. Road, infrastructure and bridge winners were Robert Harkins of Carroll Township-based Lobar Site Development Corp. for his work on the Tulpehocken Bridge in Lehigh County, and Kirk Hench and Tim Showers of McClure for their work on the Holtwood redevelopment project in Lancaster County. Craftsman of the Future awards were given to students Skyler Montgomery of Cumberland-Perry Area Vocational Technical School for welding, William T. Poole of Dauphin County Technical School for carpentry and building construction, Bailey A. Riffert of Lancaster County Career & Technology Center for electrical, Josh Hoffer of Lebanon County Career and Technology Center for masonry and Cody Lehr of York County School of Technology for carpentry. Safety awards went to general contractor Benchmark Construction Co. Inc., mechanical contractor Enginuity LLC, electrical contractor Edwin L. Heim Co., masonry and roofing contractor Houck Group Inc. of West Hanover Township, painting contractor Ralph E. Jones Inc. of Susquehanna Township and structural steel contractor Ritner Steel Inc. of Middlesex Township.


The commonwealth gave 2013 Pennsylvania Environmental Excellence awards to Propel Andrew St. High School in Allegheny County for its high school beekeeping program; RiverQuest for its Exploring the Marcellus Shale outreach program; the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center for creating an Energy and Environmental Engineering Department; East Penn Manufacturing Co. Inc. of Berks County for its grid scale energy storage demonstration for ancillary services using Deka Unigy Ultrabattery technology; Boeing Co. of Delaware County for its central utility plant building 86-4-14; the Bennett Branch Watershed Association, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, Western Pennsylvania Conservancy and P&N Coal Co. Inc. of Elk County for the Dents Run Watershed restoration project; Shoup's Run Watershed Association of Huntingdon County for the Miller Run brook trout enhancement project; Kline's Services of Lancaster County for the second phase of the methane digester electrical generation project; Rettew Associates Inc. for the Chesapeake Energy roadway restoration and upgrade; The Seed Farm of Lehigh County for its new farmer training program; Earth Conservancy of Luzerne County for its Huber IV Mine land reclamation project; Jersey Shore Steel Co. of Lycoming County for making and marketing the World's Greenest Steel; Hoopes Turf Farm Inc. of Potter County for its Ulysses liquefied natural-gas vehicle diesel reduction project; Partnership for the Delaware Estuary of Schuylkill County for the Schuylkill Action Network Source Water Protection Initiative; Harley-Davidson Motor Co. Inc. for promoting development in York County; and SPX Cooling Technologies of York County for lean and clean manufacturing.


The Pennsylvania State Police gave letters of commendation to Christopher Braun, Jenny Kerwin and Sandy Rank for their work on, a virtual training academy for the state's law enforcement officers. Braun is a technology coordinator with Susquehanna Township-based Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association; Kerwin is an instructional designer and project manager with JPL of Swatara Township; and Rank is an e-learning developer with West Hanover Township-based Municipal Police Officers Education & Training Commission. reduces travel costs and time away from the job while providing officers with online access to essential training needed to perform duties in a complex, ever-changing environment. Officers can choose e-learning modules that cover the latest court decisions, new laws governing police activities, domestic violence issues, booking and fingerprinting procedures, investigating stalking, using the Protection from Abuse database and Suspicious Activity Reporting.


Cleveland, Ohio-based SparkleWash gave Lou Lavetan, owner of SparkleWash of York County, an Outstanding Performance Award in recognition of its being among the top 15 percent of the company's 75 franchises.

Also Popular on CPBJ

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy