Google Plus Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Vimeo RSS


Honors, designations and recognitions


Lebanon Valley Chamber of Commerce gave Plasterer Equipment Co. Inc. a Century Business Award in recognition of its 100 years in business and its continuous ownership by the Plasterer and Houser families. Dale and Denise Snyder, current owners of a farm that has been in the Snyder family since the 18th century, received the Century Farm Award. William Penn granted the land to Snyder's ancestors as part of a large parcel of land given to them in what is now South Lebanon Township. The 2012 Chamber Champion Award was given to Steve Todd Davies, a morning radio personality with WQIC-FM (100.1) in Lebanon. Steve Todd, as he is known to his listeners, was recognized for his strong support and promotion of the chamber. Mayor Sherry Capello of Lebanon received the 2012 Athena Award, which recognizes women of achievement who have distinguished themselves through professional accomplishments and community service and have assisted other women in reaching their full potential. Capello became mayor in 2010. She supervises and directs all city departments, bureaus and other administrative units and manages budgets totaling more than $12 million. Previously, she was assistant director of community development for Derry Township, borough manager of Palmyra for 11 years and chief zoning officer of the Lebanon County planning department. She is an active volunteer and has held leadership and other roles in business organizations, schools, youth programs, church and community organizations.


Keystone Contractors Association of East Pennsboro Township gave its H.B. Alexander Safety Award to Alexander Building Construction Co. for working 126,758 man hours in 2011 without a single reportable accident. J.C. Orr & Son Inc. of Altoona was named the most improved contractor with more than 100,000 hours. George M. Wildasin C.E. Inc. of Adams County was named the contractor with the best record under 50,000 hours, and Darr Construction Inc. of Somerset County was named the contractor with the best record between 50,000 and 100,000 hours and the most improved. Penn Installations of Cambria County received the 2012 KCA Subcontractor safety award.


Adams Electric Cooperative gave service awards to the following employees and directors: 40 years, Alan Mains, technical services coordinator; 35 years, Roy Reeder, lineman chief, and George Taughinbaugh, safety and energy-use manager; 25 years, Jeff Burger, staking technician, Bill Collingsworth, lead lineman, and Debbie Slothour, engineering associate; 20 years, Brian Atherton, journeyman first class, and Jay Grove, Zone 7 director and board president; 15 years, Edna Dettinburn, staking technician, and Jill Rickle, member services coordinator; 10 years, Dan Eisenhart, Zone 9 director, Cecil Knotts, line serviceman, and Chad Thoman, staff engineer; and five years, Eric Altice and Brandon Beard, journeymen third class, and Dina Topper, administrative associate.


The Central Pennsylvania Chapter of the U.S. Green Building Council gave 2012 Forever Green Awards for a number of regional projects. Upper Allen Township-based Crabtree, Rohrbaugh and Associates won the Innovative Project of the Year award for work on the Midd-West Middle School in Snyder County. KD3 Design of Lemoyne and Susquehanna Township-based Vartan Group received special recognition for The 1500 Project in Harrisburg. McKissick Associates of Harrisburg received the non-LEED Sustainable Project of the Year award for its C.E. McCall Middle School project in Lycoming County. RGS Associates of West Earl Township and RLPS Architects of Manheim Township received the LEED Project of the Year award for the Landis Homes South campus expansion in Manheim Township. Warfel Construction of East Hempfield Township and WCI Partners Inc. of Harrisburg received special recognition for their Second and State Office Building project in Harrisburg. EI Associates of Harrisburg received the Green School of the Year award for its work on Owatin Creek Elementary School in Berks County. Longview Structures of Rapho Township and FrescoGreen of Lancaster received the Green Home of the Year award for the Embers residence in Lancaster County. Green Field Energy Solutions of Lackawanna County received the Renewable Energy Project of the Year award; Marcus Sheffer of 7 Group received the Sustainable Steward Award for lifetime achievement; FrescoGreen was named the Green Business of the Year; and Tyler Thumma of Energy Opportunities was named Chapter Volunteer of the Year.

Health care

Capital BlueCross of Susquehanna Township gave Worksite Wellness Awards in recognition of innovation and creativity in the implementation of programs that help improve workforce health to Dentsply International Inc. of York County, Rodale Inc. of Lehigh County and Fortna Inc. and Bethany Children's Home of Berks County.


Pennsylvania Air National Guard named retired Maj. Gen. James Skiff and retired Chief Master Sgt. Robert Thomas to its Hall of Fame at Fort Indiantown Gap. Skiff was commissioned through Reserve Officer Training Corps in 1966. He completed 200 combat missions in Vietnam while on active duty, and he has served at every level of command with the Pennsylvania and Connecticut Air National Guards. Prior to retirement, he was commander of the Pennsylvania Air National Guard. Thomas, a resident of Adams County, is a former member of the 193rd Special Operations Wing.

More From This Industry

Leave a Comment


Please note: All comments will be reviewed and may take up to 24 hours to appear on the site.

Post Comment
View Comment Policy